Finding peace with Yoga … #Trust30

June 29, 2011 § Leave a comment

Writing Challenge- Day 29

Nothing can bring you peace but yourself. Nothing can bring you peace but the triumph of principles. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Write down a major life goal you have yet to achieve or even begin to take action on. For each goal, write down three uncertainties (read: fears) you have relating to each goal. Break it down further, and write down three reasons for each uncertainty. When you have three reasons for your fear, you’ll be able to start processing the change because you know where the fear stems from. Now you’ll be able to make a smaller changes that push you towards your larger goal. So begins the process of “trusting yourself.”

(Author: Sean Ogle)

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Nothing brings me more peace then when I practice Yoga. Yoga has taught me how to slow down, to breath, and to create space in my mind.  The problem is that I have not actively practiced in a few years. When I practiced Yoga I felt balanced, strong and focused. I taught a Yoga class in Washington state at my favorite gym of all time, North End, and I had the most amazing class of dedicated people.  All I had to do is turn on the music and start the sun salutations and the energy in the room would led me through. Whenever I think about finding energy for inner and outer strength, I take myself back to this amazing set of people.

Some of my excuses for my gap in getting to the mat include, but are not limited to; moving 3 times in a few months, traveling, having babies, changing careers, taking care of the family, traveling some more, too many errands, too many self-inflicted expectations of my days, and mostly not setting time out for myself. I feel that this aspect of my life, taking care of my body and mind,  needs more attention now then ever before. It is a major life goal of mine to find total wellness within myself, that is eating whole-foods as close to their source as possible and taking care of my body and mind through Yoga.

I have spend the past few weeks researching nutrition night and day and as a result I have transformed the way I eat. I have started to eat as many whole-foods as I can and in return, I have felt more balance and energized.  I have found better ways to balance work and family and with a little room to breath, I am starting to feel ready to get back to my mat. The only thing left to do now is find a local Yoga studio, then a fabulous instructor and finally, to make it a priority every few ways to find myself back on the mat. Without taking care of myself, I am finding that I am not able to fully attend to everything and everyone that is important to me. So Yoga is the direction, the path is set. Ready, set, go … find Y-O-G-A.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Finding peace with Yoga … #Trust30 at Growing with Passionate People Blog.

meta

