The Influence of Others … #Trust30

June 20, 2011 § Leave a comment

Writing Challenge- Day 21

Nothing is at last sacred but the integrity of your own mind. Absolve you to yourself, and you shall have the suffrage of the world. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

We live in a society of advice columns, experts and make-over shows. Without even knowing it, you can begin to believe someone knows better than you how to live your life. Someone might know a particular something better – like how to bake a three-layer molten coconut chocolate cake or how to build a website – but nobody else on the planet knows how to live your life better than you. (Although one or two people may think they do.) For today, trying asking yourself often, especially before you make a choice, “What do I know about this?”

(Author: Jen Louden)

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

When it comes to letting other people influence actions, I think there are two types of people. First, the ones that stick with their plan and move forward no matter what other people say and they tend to get things done (very important action). Second, there are those that question everything about their plan and tend to delay their plans. And of course there are various versions in between.

I personally used to fall into the second kind, the kind that over analyzed everything that others would say, which made it really hard to actually start moving on my plans. However, a few weeks ago I actually decided to start listening to my inner voice (the plotter of all big plans) and I started to trust in myself, trust in my “Evil Plans” (thanks Hugh Macleod). And it has been amazing since … I have actually started to make things happen by simply taking small steps everday. Now, I will not say that all the sudden I have turned into someone that does not care about what others say, this will never go away and I am kind of glad about that, but I have learned to take these comments creatively and put them to great use, to make my plans even bigger and better.

Okay, I have revealed too much … now it is your turn. I want to know if you let others influence your actions and delay your projects or if you move forward no matter what anyone says and actually act on your plans? I hope if you were like me, you starting learning to trust yourself and believe that your plans are not so evil after all. If it is too hard to do on your own, find a cheerleader, someone that encourages and motivates you to take action. If you need one, let me know, I can help you. If you are a change maker, well keep going, the skys the limit. Go out there and do something wonderful today.

I am taking a writing workshop today, a necessary step in plans, here goes …

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Influence of Others … #Trust30 at Growing with Passionate People Blog.

meta

