To being bold … #Trust30

June 6, 2011 § 1 Comment

Writing Challenge- Day 7

Our arts, our occupations, our marriages, our religion, we have not chosen, but society has chosen for us. We are parlour soldiers. We shun the rugged battle of fate, where strength is born. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

“Next to Resistance, rational thought is the artist or entrepreneurs worst enemy. Bad things happen when we employ rational thought, because rational thought comes from the ego. Instead, we want to work from the Self, that is, from instinct and intuition, from the unconscious.

A child has no trouble believing the unbelievable, nor does the genius or the madman. Its only you and I, with our big brains and our tiny hearts, who doubt and overthink and hesitate.” – Steven Pressfield, Do the Work

The idea of “being realistic” holds all of us back. From starting a business or quitting a job to dating someone who may not be our type or moving to a new place – getting “real” often means putting your dreams on hold.

Today, let’s take a step away from rational thought and dare to be bold. What’s one thing you’ve always wanted to accomplish but have been afraid to pursue? Write it down. Also write down the obstacles in your way of reaching your goal. Finally, write down a tangible plan to overcome each obstacle.

The only thing left is to, you know, actually go make it happen. What are you waiting for?

(Author: Matt Cheuvront)

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________

A few weeks back, I took the rational, conventional path that I thought I was supposed to take and I failed … I failed because rational does not work for me. Unless I am “Poking the Box” (term and book by Seth Godin- go read it now, it will change everything) and changing the status quo, then I do not feel fulfilled and let’s face it, when I am not happy in my work, well it shows everywhere (I am not sure how my family and friends have put up with me for this long, especially my loving husband of 9 years).  But this is my truth, I must start each day with, how I can push myself to create, start new, stay challenged, be brave, be bold.  I can’t say, every day is ground breaking in my results, but at least I am enjoying the ride, and who is counting anyway (except myself, which that is a whole other post about turning 30 and the expectations that come along with finishing up another decade of life).

My biggest obstacle  to making time after the kids are taken care of is keeping my life in a certain order, whether it be cleaning, shopping, paying bills, gardening, etc … And although these things are necessary, I am finding ways to be more efficient, letting others help, and relaxing a bit about the status of certain things. I also cut out TV at night to make time to read and write.  Life is hectic, but there is still time to make things happen.

Today I am going to help a wonderful chef start a blog.

Here is today, to feeling inspired, to making something happen. What are you going to do today to be bold? What is stopping you?

§ One Response to To being bold … #Trust30

  • Jackie Paulson Author says:

    I like that you are busy but make time to read and write and blog; your way is my way too: skip tv !!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading To being bold … #Trust30 at Growing with Passionate People Blog.

meta

