My Biggest Challenge … #Trust30

June 4, 2011 § Leave a comment

Writing Challenge- Day 4

That which each can do best, none but his Maker can teach him. Where is the master who could have taught Shakespeare? Where is the master who could have instructed Franklin, or Washington, or Bacon, or Newton? . . . Shakespeare will never be made by the study of Shakespeare. Do that which is assigned you, and you cannot hope too much or dare too much. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Identify one of your biggest challenges at the moment (ie I don’t feel passionate about my work) and turn it into a question (ie How can I do work I’m passionate about?) Write it on a post-it and put it up on your bathroom mirror or the back of your front door. After 48-hours, journal what answers came up for you and be sure to evaluate them.

Bonus: tweet or blog a photo of your post-it.

(Author: Jenny Blake)

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

My biggest challenges at the moment: What can I do to leave the world a better place?

I am off to post this on my wall and I will be back in 48 hours with some answers …

48 hours came and went and here is what I think … I think if I continue to strive to find ways to put others first, to take time to listen and to take action when I see the need and when I have the talent to help, well that is enough to create a better world. I keep comparing myself to other people that have done wonderful things and I get anxious that I will never be brave enough to create enough change to make a difference. I need to trust that my willingness to put myself out there and to learn everyday so that I can contribute to a need will be enough in the end and I think that is what Emerson means when he says, “and you cannot hope too much or dare too much”, rather to “do that which is assigned you.” My assignment can and will come in time if I keep moving forward and trust in myself to do the work that matters.

My favorite quote of all time, the one that I use to calm my fears of not being a contributor to the greater good, to have succeeded in becoming an integral part of this world … well, let’s just say, these words have become my mantra.

To find the best in others; to leave the world a bit better whether by a healthy child, a garden patch or a redeemed social condition; to know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived. This is to have succeeded. 
Ralph Waldo Emerson

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Biggest Challenge … #Trust30 at Growing with Passionate People Blog.

meta

