15 Minutes to Live … #Trust30

May 31, 2011 § 1 Comment

SR Pledge Badge v1 110517 200px Fifteen Minutes to LiveWriting Challenge- Day 1

We are afraid of truth, afraid of fortune, afraid of death, and afraid of each other. Our age yields no great and perfect persons. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

You just discovered you have fifteen minutes to live.

1. Set a timer for fifteen minutes.
2. Write the story that has to be written.

(Author: Gwen Bell)

_______________________________________________________________________________________

 

I want to tell you a story of doing the things that make you feel alive inside because life is way too short and precious not to do something that matters.

I have met three kinds of people (well probably many more, but time is too short here to get into details), first the settlers, second the change makers and third, those stuck in between.  The first set is those that settle for life, they are not passionate in their own work, nor do they encourage passion in others, in fact, they smash all creativity when they can. They go through life, making others feel bad because they are too scared to go after what they really want or they have never taken the time to figure out what matters.  Second,  I see the change makers, the ones that are truly happy and passionate about their work. The ones that exude energy, creativity, passion, purpose, connectivity, empathy, fearlessness and so many more great things that are wonderful to be around. They are not scared about making things happen and they make others feel happy just by being around them. Third are those, where a lot of us haven fallen (including me until a few weeks ago), who know that they want more, but they are not sure how to get there.

I am not sure which one you are, but I hope if you are not the second kind, then you work on getting there …  and fast. And if you are having trouble getting there as in the “fallen”, you find people that get it and can inspire you, they are all around, just open your eyes.  I have had many people inspire and amaze me and bring me out of the “fallen” stage and I need to find ways to thank them because it has changed me for the better.

Quickly because time is running out, I say GO after the things that matter to you, please do not settle.  I believe the trick is to identify what exactly you want out of life  and then go out there and live that life and do work that means something to you, work that helps others, work that makes you feel alive inside (trust me, GO,  it feels great.)

And although I have had a rough, intensely scary few weeks of really looking closely at what I want, making tough decisions, leaving things behind, and following my heart, it is all starting to come together in ways I never imagined.  And what is so great  about this self reflection is that I am looking back over my life, realizing how truly lucky I am. Secretly I have been going after things for quite some time  and everything I wanted came true at the right times. I was never a settler, I just didn’t have it in me.

A brief review:

Went to Paris (twice) … red wine, baguette and Brie, heaven (and 5 other amazing countries, all with great stories to tell)

Married the love of my Life and continue to love him everyday after

Have two beautiful children that amaze and teach me each day

Wrote a crazy letter about myself to a company after reading about them in a magazine, was hired within days and contributed greatly (hope to again one day)

Found a greater purpose of helping others (my current project)

Studied and taught yoga to adults, kids and babies

Loved intensely and felt very loved by others

Worked with amazingly creative and passionate people

And so many more, wish I had more time to tell …

Go after what makes you feel alive and hang on for the ride, just make sure you feel the breeze along the way! Do one thing that scares you everyday, totally worth the bumps in the road!!

P.s. love to hear about what makes you feel alive and/or what scares you.

§ One Response to 15 Minutes to Live … #Trust30

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 15 Minutes to Live … #Trust30 at Growing with Passionate People Blog.

meta

